Institute of Functional Interfaces

ESEM

All microscopic measurements are carried out in a FEI Philips XL 30 Field Emission Gun Environmental Scanning Electron Microscope (FEG-ESEM). As one of the basic characterization methods at the institute, electron microscopy is used for the investigation of samples from numerous research fields, e.g. nanomineralogy (layered minerals, mesoporous materials), polymer science, investigation of cement phases, or metal organic frameworks. (Fig. 1)

In most of the cases a complex sample preparation is not necessary. Nevertheless, to avoid charging, insulating materials have to be coated with a thin layer of conductive carbon or with a Gold/Palladium-film. Then the specimen can be imaged under high vacuum conditions (10-5 Pa) using acceleration voltages between 5 and 20 kV.

Fig. 01

Figure 1. Examples of investigated materials: a) layered minerals and mesoporous materials, b) polymers and nanocomposites, c) metal organic framework structures (MOF).


 

Furthermore it is possible to run the ESEM under various pressures between 100 and 1300 Pa. Due to its special design sensitive samples like organic and biological substances can be imaged without complex drying procedures and without a conductive coating, which minimizes beam damage. (Fig. 2)

Fig. 02

Figure 2. Images of vacuum sensitive biological samples, a) spores and fungi, b) biofilm, c) bacteria.


A tensile stage (M-TEST300, Deben Co.) can be used to run in-situ tensile test (stress/strain experiments). During these experiments the ductile behavior of the materials can be investigated, as well as morphological changes (cracks). (Fig. 3)

 

Fig. 3

Figure 3. Tensile tests on polymer and nanocomposite samples, a) brittle failure of the raw polymer (red curve), b) stress-strain diagram, c) ductile failure of LDH-nanocomposite with strongly increased tensile strength (blue curve).

 

Elemental analyses and elemental mapping are performed using the energy dispersive X-ray fluorescence spectroscopic unit (EDX) from EDAX with a liquid nitrogen cooled Sapphire Si(Li) detector. For the spectra collection the microscope was operated a 100 µm aperture was used. With this setup point spectra or linescans can be recorded, as well as elemental mappings over larger sample areas. (Fig. 4)

 

Fig. 4

Figure 4. . Energy dispersive X-ray spectrometry (EDX). Top) single spectra recorded in the light and dark areas of the grain; bottom) elemental mapping of the entire area.

 

 

Equipment

 

Device Designation: Philips XL30 ESEM-FEG (FEI)

 

Classification: Environmental Scanning Electron Microscope with Field Emission Gun (ESEM-FEG)

 

Description/Features:

 

  • Detectors: Everhart-Thornley secondary electron detector (SE), backscattered electron detector (BSE), several gaseous secondary electron detectors (GSE’s), from large-field detector to 0.5-mm-aperture detector

  • EDAX liquid nitrogen cooled energy-dispersive X-ray spectrometry (EDX)

  • Peltier heating/cooling stage

  • Bal-Tec MED020 cryopreparation, incl. shuttle transfer system and cryo-stage.

  • Coating of Au/Pd 80/20 (Bal-Tec MED020), and Carbon (Cressington 108carbon/A)

  • Tensile Stage MTEST300 (Deben/Gatan)

 

 

Keywords: SEM, ESEM, variable pressure microscopy, sensitive samples.

Institut für Funktionelle Grenzflächen (IFG)

ESEM

Für morphologische Untersuchungen steht am Institut ein Philips XL 30 ESEM (Environmental Scanning Electron Microscope) zur Verfügung. Als eine der grundlegenden Charakterisierungsmethoden wird die Rasterelektronenmikroskopie zur Untersuchung von Proben aus zahlreichen Forschungsbereichen eingesetzt. Diese umfassen ebenso nanomineralogische Fragestellungen (Schichtsilicate, mesoporöse Materialien), wie die Untersuchung von Polymeren, Zementphasen, oder Metallorganischen Gerüststrukturen (Abb. 1).

Dabei ist in den meisten Fällen keine aufwändige Probenpräparation erforderlich. Elektrisch isolierende Materialien müssen allerdings mit einem dünnen Kohlenstoff- oder Gold/Palladium-Film bedampft werden, um eine Aufladung der Proben im Mikroskop zu vermeiden. Dann können die Proben im Hochvakuum (10-5 Pa) bei Anregungsspannungen zwischen 5 und 20 kV abgebildet werden.

Fig. 01

Abbildung 1. Beispiele aus dem Spektrum untersuchter Materialien: a) Schichtminerale und mesoporöse Materialien, b) Polymere und Nanokomposite, c) metallorganische Gerüststrukturen (MOF’s).


 

Neben dem „normalen“ Hochvakuum-Modus bietet das ESEM darüber hinaus die Möglichkeit in der Probenkammer mittels Wasser-Molekülen variable Drücke zwischen 100 – 1300 Pa zu erzeugen. Dieser spezielle „ESEM-Modus“ erlaubt die Untersuchung vakuumsensitiver Proben wie organische oder biologische Materialien, ohne vorhergehende komplexe Trocknungsprozeduren und ohne die Proben mit einer leitfähigen Schicht besputtern zu müssen (Abb. 2).

Fig. 02

Abbildung 2. Abbildungen vakuumsensitiver biologischer Proben a) Sporen und Pilze, b) Biofilme, c) Bakterien.


Eine Tensile Stage (M-TEST300, Deben Co.) bietet zudem die Möglichkeit an Polymer- und Nanokomposit-Proben in-situ-Zugexperimente (stress/strain-Experimente) durchzuführen, während dessen sowohl das plastische Verhalten der Materialien, als auch morphologische Veränderungen (Bruch-Verhalten) mikroskopisch erfasst werden können (Abb. 3).

 

Fig. 03

Abbildung 3. Tensile Tests an Polymer- und Nanokompositproben. a) Spröder Bruch des reinen Polymers (rote Kurve), b) Spannungs-Dehnungs Diagramm, c) zäher Bruch des LDH-Nanokomposites mit stark erhöhter Zugfestigkeit (blaue Kurve).

 

Für energiedispersive Röntgenfluoreszenz Spektrometrie (EDX) steht ein Stickstoff gekühlter Sapphir Si(Li) Detektor (EDAX) am Mikroskop zu Verfügung. Damit kann schnell die chemische Zusammensetzung von Punkten oder entlang von Linescan ermittelt werden. Darüber hinaus ermöglicht diese Technik die Aufnahme von Elementmappings über größere Probenbereiche (Abb. 4).

 

Fig.04

Abbildung 4. Energiedispersive Röntgen Spektrometrie im ESEM. Oben) Einzelspektren, unten) Elementmapping.

 

 

Ausstattung

 

Gerät: Philips XL30 ESEM-FEG (FEI)

 

Klassifikation: Environmental Scanning Electron Microscope mit Feldemissionskathode (ESEM-FEG)

 

Beschreibung/Einzelheiten:

 

  • Detektoren: Everhart-Thornley Sekundärelektronen Detektor (SE), Rückstreu-elektronen Detektor (BSE), verschiedene Gasphasen Sekundärelektronendetektoren (GSE’s) (u.a. large-field Detektor bis zu 0.5-mm-Aperturdetektor)

  • EDAX - energiedispersive Röntgenspektrometrie (EDX) (flüssig Stickstoff gekühlt)

  • Peltier heating/cooling Stages

  • Hochvakuum-Kleinbeschichtungsanlage Bal-Tec MED020. Derzeitiges Target: Au/Pd 80/20

  • Option zur Cryopräparation, incl. Shuttle Transfer System und Cryo-Stage

  • Carbon Coater (Cressington 108carbon/A)

  • Tensile Stage MTEST300 (Deben)

 

 

Stichworte: REM, SEM, ESEM, Mikroskopie unter variablem Druck, sensitive Proben.