Home | deutsch  | Legals | Sitemap | KIT
Leitung

Prof. Dr. Matthias Franzreb

Prof. Dr. Matthias Franzreb

+49-721-608-2-3595
+49-721-608-2-3478

 

E-Mail

 

 Prof. Dr. Jürgen Hubbuch

   +49-721-608-2-8484
   +49-721-608-2-3478
   E-mail

 

 

Department of Bioengineering and Biosystems

Interfaces as a location for sorption processes, biochemical reactions and biological interactions

 

The work of the Department of Bioprocess Engineering and Biosystems comprises the development, modeling and use of novel apparatuses and procedures for the optimized use of technical areas in the fields of biotechnology, bioprocess engineering and general process technology. In addition, the behavior and the interaction of pro- and eukaryotic cells are examined in natural and technically modified environments in order to initiate specific manipulation strategies.

 

The starting point for the work in the area of bioprocess technology is often the development of novel, functional hybrid materials that combine innovative physicochemical effects with a high specificity for the respective target substances. In addition, the development of a next generation of biotechnological processes is a further focus. An intensely studied example of this is the formation of magnetic micro- and nanoparticles, since they have oversized specific surfaces with simultaneous easy separability. Furthermore, microstructured / microfluidic systems are investigated in which, for example, cellular processes such as enzyme cascades ("biomimetic compartmentations") can be imitated. In many cases, new 3D printing processes ("BioPrinting") or their development form the basis for the described technologies. 

 

In the field of biosystems, on the one hand, the interactions of biomaterials with hematopoietic stem cells are investigated. On the other hand, novel 3D cell culture systems for the use as artificial (hematopoietic) stem cells niches are developed on the basis of micro thermoformed polymers. Micro thermoformed polymer films, so-called microcavity arrays, are also the basis of MRI-compatible micro bioreactors, which are used as functional MRI phantoms.

 

Another focus in the field of biosystems is bacterial biofilms. Their interactions with new or modified / functionalized materials for the fields of medicine and technology are part of these investigations. In addition, the characterization of the dynamics of natural biofilms in processing processes is of prime importance. A microfluidic online biofilmsensorics supports the biofilm research of the department. Specifically, in preparation processes, the occurrence and elimination of multi-resistant pathogens for a biological risk control with adapted evaluation concepts is also being looked at.

 

Research Group:

Expertise/Scope of Duties

Process Development and Simulation
Prof. Dr. Matthias Franzreb

Sorption-/Extraction Procedures (biotic/abiotic)

Magnetic Separation, Printed mesofluidic reactors,

Modeling

Print Technology in Biotechnology
Prof. Dr. J. Hubbuch

Development and characterization of bio inks
High Throughput Process Development (HTDP)
cell printing

Process and Sensor Technology, 3D Prints
Dipl. Ing. J. Wohlgemuth

Design & Construction, CAD & Additive Manufacturing

Automation & programming

Particle analysis technology, sensor system technology

Stemcell - Material Interactions
Dr. Cornelia Lee-Thedieck

Adult stem cells

Biomaterials

Micro- and nanostructuring

Micro / Molecular Biology
Prof. Dr. T. Schwartz

Biofilm formation and manipulation

Antibiotic resistances in aquatic habitants

Biological evaluation of conditioning processes

Analytical biochemistry

 Dr. G. Brenner-Weiss

Bio-organic mass spectroscopy

Biomimetic compartmentation of cellular processes

Water ressource management

3D-Cellculture Systems

Prof. Dr. Eric Gottwald

 

 

Development of artificial stem cell niches based on polymer microcavity arrays
Micro bioreactors for organotypic tissue culture

Abteilung Bioprozesstechnik und Biosysteme

Grenzflächen als Schauplatz von Sorptionsvorgängen, biochemischen Reaktionen und biologischen Interaktionen

Die Arbeiten der Abteilung Bioprozesstechnik und Biosysteme umfassen die Entwicklung, die Modellierung und den Einsatz neuartiger Apparate und Verfahren zur optimierten Nutzung technischer Grenzflächen in den Bereichen Biotechnologie, Bioverfahrenstechnik sowie allgemeiner Prozesstechnik. Daneben werden das Verhalten und die Interaktion von pro- und eukaryotischen Zellen in natürlichen und technisch- modifizierten Umgebungen untersucht, um gezielt Manipulationsstrategien zu initialisieren.

Ausgangspunkt für die Arbeiten im Bereich Bioprozesstechnik bildet oftmals die Entwicklung neuartiger, funktioneller Hybridmaterialien, die innovative physicochemische Effekte mit einer hohen Spezifität für die jeweiligen Zielsubstanzen verbinden. Daneben bildet die Entwicklung einer nächsten Generation biotechnologischer Verfahren einen weiteren Schwerpunkt. Ein intensiv untersuchtes Beispiel hierfür bilden magnetische Mikro- und Nanopartikel, da diese über große spezifische Oberflächen bei gleichzeitiger einfacher Separierbarkeit verfügen. Ferner werden mikrostrukturierte/mikrofluidische Systeme untersucht, in denen beispielsweise zelluläre Prozesse, wie Enzymkaskaden („biomimetische Kompartimentierungen“) nachgestellt werden können. Vielfach bilden neue 3D-Druckverfahren („BioPrinting“) bzw. deren Entwicklung die Basis für die beschriebenen Technologien.

Im Bereich Biosysteme werden zum Einen gezielt die Interaktionen von Biomaterialien mit hämatopoetischen Stammzellen untersucht, zum Anderen auf Basis mikrothermogeformter Polymere neuartige 3D-Zellkultursysteme für den Einsatz als artifizielle (hämatopoetische) Stammzellnischen entwickelt. Mikrothermogeformte Polymerfolien, sogenannte Mikrokavitäten-Arrays, sind auch die Basis MRT-kompatibler Mikrobioreaktoren, die als funktionelle MRT-Phantome eingesetzt werden.

 

 

AG Bioprozesstechnik und Biosysteme KIT/IFG
Prozessentwicklung gedruckte Systeme Simulation

Sorptions-/Extraktionsverfahren (biotisch/abiotisch) Magnetseparation, gedruckte mesofluidische Reaktoren, Modellierung

Mehr
AG Prozess und Sensortechnik KIT/IFG
Prozess-und Sensortechnologie 3D Druck

Design & Konstruktion, CAD & Additive Fertigung Automatisierung & Programmierung Partikelanalysentechnik, Sensorsystemtechnik

Mehr
AG Druckverfahren in der Biotechnologie
Druckverfahren in der Biotechnologie

Entwicklung und Charakterisierung von Biotinten, Hochdurchsatz, Prozessentwicklung, Zelldruck

Mehr
AG Analytische Biochemie KIT/IFG
Analytische Biochemie

Bio-Organische Massenspektrometrie, Biomimetische Kompartimentierung zellulärer Prozesse, Wasserressourcenmangement

Mehr
AG 3D-Zellkultursysteme KIT/IFG
3 D-Zellkultur Systeme
Entwicklung artifizieller Stammzellnischen auf Basis von Polymer-Mikrokavitätenarrays, Mikrobioreaktoren für organotypische Gewebekulturen, Nanoporöse Materialien zur Beeinflussung des Zellverhaltens
Mehr
AG Neuroelectronic Materials KIT/IFG
Neuroelectronic Materials

Neurotechnology and neural communication, Multiferroic Materials, Nanotechnology and biomaterials

Mehr
AG Chemische Biologie
Chemische Biologie

Biotinten für 3D Druck, 

3D Geweberekonstruktion,

Organspezifischer Wirkstofftransport

Mehr