Institute of Functional Interfaces

Print Technology in Biotechnology

The working group ‘Print Technology in Biotechnology‘ is working on all aspects of the bioprinting process development.

A prerequisite for a successful print is the development of tailor-made bioinks whose formulation includes network-building and stabilizing additives. These are the matrix for the biologically active components, for example enzymes or eucaryotic cells. During the bioprinting process, functional hybrid objects for the use in pharmaceutical and medical research are created.

For the industrial application, the bioprinting process should be reproducible and robust. On that account, optimized devices and processing protocols are developed aiming to control the process steps during and after printing for SLA, inkjet and extrusion-based 3D-printing.

In parallel with process control, quality control strategies are being established. Examples are rheological characterization of the used bioinks, in-process-control methods as well as the characterization of the 3D-printed object. This includes the measurement of the metabolic activity of incorporated cells. Among the techniques used are the automatized image analysis, mechanical tests as well as various assays.

 

Figure 1 Process steps in Bioprinting. A: Influencing the degradability of the bioink by additives, for example with Kolliphor®, a thermoresponsive additive that melts at low temperatures.  B: Process development using several bioprinting systems. For HT applications, the printed objects have to be produced with high reproducibility and robustness. C: Characterization of bioprinted objects by several techniques.

Thesis

If you are interested in a Bachelor's or Master's thesis in this subject area, please contact Svenja Strauß or David Grijalva Garces by e-mail.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT
Ansprechpartner

Prof. Dr. J. Hubbuch

    

http://mab.blt.kit.edu/ 
 +49-721-608-2-8484
   +49-721-608-2-3478
   E-Mail

 

Druckverfahren in der Biotechnologie

Die Arbeitsgruppe „Druckverfahren in der Biotechnologie“ beschäftigt sich mit allen Aspekten der Bioprinting-Prozessentwicklung.

Voraussetzung für einen erfolgreichen Druckprozess ist die Entwicklung maßgeschneiderter Biotinten, welche netzwerkbildende und stabilisierende Komponenten enthalten. Diese bilden die Matrix für die biologisch aktiven Bestandteile, die zum Beispiel Enzyme oder eukaryotische Zellen sein können. Während des Bioprinting-Prozesses entstehen so funktionelle hybride Geometrien für den Einsatz in der pharmazeutischen und medizinischen Forschung. 

Das Bioprinting soll für die industrielle Anwendung reproduzierbar und robust gestaltet werden. Hierfür werden Strategien und optimierte Apparate entwickelt, welche die Umgebungsbedingungen und die Schritte beim Postprocessing der 3D-Druck-Verfahren SLA, Inkjet und Extrusionsdruck standardisieren.

Hand in Hand mit der Entwicklung von Strategien für die sichere Herstellung von bio-3D-gedruckten Objekten werden Methoden für die Qualitätskontrolle etabliert. Hier reicht die Bandbreite von rheologischen Messungen der Biotinten über in-process-Kontrollen bis zur Charakterisierung des gedruckten Objekts. Hierbei ist unter anderem die metabolische Aktivität der eingeschlossenen Zellen von Interesse. Eingesetzte Techniken sind unter anderem die automatisierte Bildanalyse, mechanische Tests und die Aktivitätsbestimmung über verschiedene Assays.

 

Abbildung 1 Schritte der Bioprinting-Prozessentwicklung. A: Die Zusammensetzung der Biotinte beeinflusst ihre Stabilität. Beispielsweise führt das thermoresponsive Additiv Kolliphor® zu einem Schmelzen bei niedrigen Temperaturen. B: Prozessentwicklung mit mehreren Bioprinting-Systemen. Für Hochdurchsatzanwendungen müssen die 3D-gedruckten Objekte reproduzierbar robust erzeugt werden. C: Charakterisierung von gedruckten Objekten mit verschiedenen Methoden.
 

Abschlussarbeiten
Bachelor- und Masterarbeiten können vergeben werden. Bei Interesse bitte per E-Mail mit Svenja Strauß oder David Grijalva Garces Kontakt aufnehmen.