Institute of Functional Interfaces

SURCOFs und SURGELs

MOF-templated Biomaterials

Our research interest is to develop novel materials for applications in biotechnology and medicine. These materials are based on a new class of multifunctional network polymers, which are prepared via a coordination-driven metal–organic framework (MOF)-based template-approach. This demonstrate the concept of crystal-controlled polymerization in confined nanospace, forming highly tunable three dimensional cross-linked network polymers, and tailored porous architectures. MOF-templated polymeric materials combine the advantages of ordered crystalline MOFs (high porosity, structure regularity, and designability) with the intrinsic behaviors of soft polymers (flexibility, processability, stability in physiological media and their biocompatibility) with widespread application possibilities and tunable properties. Such hierarchically structured materials, which are optimized at all length scales relevant for cellular activity could offer the necessary micro-environmental cues for cellular proliferation or differentiation in the right place and at the right time, which makes these biomaterials ideal candidates for applications in cell culture, tissue engineering, medical implants or wound dressing.

 

https://pubs.acs.org/doi/abs/10.1021/acs.accounts.9b00039

Polymerization in MOF Confined Nanospaces: Tailored Architectures, Functions, and Applications, Begum, S. , Hassan, Z. , Bräse, S. Tsotsalas, M.  Langmuir, 2020, (Invited Feature Article)  

 

 

Microporous Nanomembranes 

 

Freestanding nanomembranes of the precision polymers with a hierarchical composition are prepared by a layer-by-layer (LbL) synthesis on sacrificial substrates. The membranes and thin films can find application in gas and liquid phase separation as well as in organic electronics.

 

SEM images of a freestanding POF nanomembranes after transfer to a TEM grid

 

 

Dynamic Covalent Polymer Networks

Dynamic covalent polymer networks synthesized via multi-fold nitroxide exchange reactions (NER) or combination of NER and nitroxide mediated polymerization (NMP) offer a versatile approach for the preparation of controlled and tunable polymeric structures. These dynamic materials with self-healable, intrinsic reversibility and chemical stability can be tailored for applications in medical implants and membrane separation or as organic energy materials.

Institut für Funktionelle Grenzflächen (IFG)

SURCOFs und SURGELs

MOF-basierte Biomaterialien

Unser Forschungsinteresse gilt der Entwicklung neuartiger Materialien für Anwendungen in der Biotechnologie und Medizin. Diese Materialien basieren auf einer neuen Klasse von multifunktionalen Netzwerkpolymeren, die über einen koordinierungsgesteuerten, auf einem metallorganischen Gerüst (MOF aus dem Englischen metal-organic frameworks) basierenden Template-Ansatz hergestellt werden. Dies demonstriert das Konzept der kristallkontrollierten Polymerisation in der begrenzten Nanoraumfahrt, wobei hochgradig abstimmbare dreidimensionale vernetzte Netzwerkpolymere und maßgeschneiderte poröse Architekturen gebildet werden. MOF-bsierte Polymermaterialien kombinieren die Vorteile geordneter kristalliner MOFs (hohe Porosität, Strukturregelmäßigkeit und Designfähigkeit) mit dem intrinsischen Verhalten von Weichpolymeren (Flexibilität, Verarbeitbarkeit, Stabilität in physiologischen Medien und deren Biokompatibilität) mit weitreichenden Anwendungsmöglichkeiten und abstimmbaren Eigenschaften. Solche hierarchisch strukturierten Materialien, die auf allen für die zelluläre Aktivität relevanten Längenskalen optimiert sind, könnten die notwendigen mikroökologischen Hinweise für die zelluläre Proliferation oder Differenzierung am richtigen Ort und zur richtigen Zeit bieten, was diese Biomaterialien zu idealen Kandidaten für Anwendungen in der Zellkultur, der Gewebetechnik, für medizinische Implantate oder Wundverbände macht.

 

 

https://pubs.acs.org/doi/abs/10.1021/acs.accounts.9b00039

Polymerization in MOF Confined Nanospaces: Tailored Architectures, Functions, and Applications, Begum, S. , Hassan, Z. , Bräse, S. Tsotsalas, M.  Langmuir, 2020, (Invited Feature Article)  

 

 

Mikroporöse Nanomaterialien

 

Das Ziel dieses Projektes ist die Entwicklung mikroporöser Nanomembranen. Durch die kontrollierte Lage-für-Lage Synthese der Membranen aus modularen, organischen Bausteinen haben die Materialien eine einstellbare Dicke mit der Möglichkeit zu einer postsynthetischen Funktionalisierung der Oberfläche und damit den Einsatz in den unterschiedlichsten Anwendungsgebieten, wie Gas und Flüssigphasentrennung sowie in der organischen Elektronik.

 

 

SEM images of a freestanding POF nanomembranes after transfer to a TEM grid

 

 

Dynamische kovalente Polymernetzwerke

Dynamische kovalente Polymernetzwerke, die über mehrfache Nitroxidaustauschreaktionen (NER) oder die Kombination von NER und nitroxidvermittelter Polymerisation (NMP) synthetisiert werden, bieten einen vielseitigen Ansatz für die Herstellung kontrollierter und abstimmbarer Polymerstrukturen. Diese dynamischen Materialien mit selbstheilender, intrinsischer Reversibilität und chemischer Stabilität können für Anwendungen in medizinischen Implantaten und Membrantrennung oder als organische Energiematerialien maßgeschneidert werden.

 

 

 

                         

Metal-Organic Framework-Templated Biomaterials: Progress in Synthesis, Functionalization, and Applications. Begum, S. Hassan, Z. Bräse, S. Wöll, C. Tsotsalas, M.  Acc. Chem. Res. 2019, 52, 1598. (Front Cover) https://pubs.acs.org/doi/abs/10.1021/acs.accounts.9b00039

 

Recycling and self-healing of dynamic covalent polymer networks with precisely tunable crosslinking, An, Q.  Wessely, I.D.  Matt, Y.  Hassan, Z. Bräse, S. Tsotsalas, M.  Polym. Chem. 2019, 10, 672. (Front Cover)

Crystal morphology-directed framework orientation in porous coordination polymer films and freestanding membranes via Langmuir–Blodgettry, https://pubs.rsc.org/en/content/articlelanding/2012/JM/c2jm16333k#!divAbstract