We are excited to be part of "NanoRAM" -  an EU-funded Marie Skłodowska-Curie Innovative Doctoral Network, incorporating 19 organisations across 12 countries. The interdisciplinary network combines physics, chemistry, biology and engineering to train a new generation of scientists in the development and application of newly developed manipulation and characterisation nanotools in soft matter research. The network fosters a strong collaboration between academic and industrial partners with a keen focus on enhancing the career prospects of the doctoral candidates.

We will contribute to this offering a PhD project on "Digitalization of Biomaterial Research via Deep Learning Approaches".

Doctoral candidates in NanoRAM will work on multi-disciplinary projects and be engaged in a comprehensive network-wide training programme. Candidates will also benefit from secondments to academic and industrial partners, which will emphasise an innovative, creative and entrepreneurial mind-set.

Read more and apply at

2023-03-16 PhD Thesis Prize for Muhammad Haseeb Iqbal

Dr. Muhammad Haseeb Iqbal won the 2022 C'Nano PhD Thesis Prize for Interdisciplinary Research in Nanoscience for his thesis entitled "Surface Engineering of Biobased Polymeric Nanofilms for Biomedical Applications" carried out at the Institute Charles Sadron & Lab. Biomaterials and Bioengineering - University of Strasbourg.

Congratulations, Haseeb!

2023-02-16+17 Makro2023 Freiburg - Wiley Poster Prize for Katharina Cu

Katharina Cu, Bahar Dadfar, Marvin Klaiber, Meike König and Martina Plank represented the group at the Makro 2023 in Freiburg. We were happy to present our research in three posters. Two fabulous days of cutting-edge polymer science, wonderful talks, posters and mingling with other polymer scientists - and a delicious conference dinner!

Katharina Cu was rewarded with the Wiley Poster Prize for her poster entitled "Direct Particle Transport via Fiber Reconfigurable Networks".

Congratulations, Katharina!

2023-01-31 Prof. Joerg Lahann honored as AAAS fellow

Joerg Lahann got honored as 2022 fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) for distinguished contributions to the field of polymeric materials engineering, including biointerfaces prepared using chemical vapor polymerization.

Congratulations, Prof. Lahann!