Institute of Functional Interfaces

Porous membranes and sensor materials

Membranes made of Metal-Organic Frameworks (MOFs) represent a new key technology for achieving the EU climate targets by 2050. Membranes enable continuous gas separation, which (a) enables an active separation of CO2 e.g. from industrial waste gases, but also (b) enables a technological replacement of cryogenic distillation columns and thus the establishment of green production.

 

 

Porous liquids and mixed matrix membranes

Porous liquids are a new class of materials which, in terms of MOFs, are colloidal dispersions in which the pore opening of the MOFs is smaller than the surrounding solvent molecules, so that the nanocrystals are "empty" and the pores are accessible. Porous liquids are highly processable, extremely stable colloids which, due to their monodispersity, can be used as filler material for mixed matrix membranes (polymer-filler membranes, MMMs), where they offer the possibility of generating extremely high polymer loading without losing the polymer properties. MMMs are the most relevant and application-oriented for the industry due to their low cost and easy production.

 

 

SURMOF Membranes

The synthesis of MOFs can be taken to the next level by using liquid phase epitaxy (LPE), which enables unit cell precision in film deposition, and the even on very rough surfaces of ceramic membrane carriers. This technology also enables the deposition of hierarchical layers, which then combine the separation parameters of several materials.

 

 

 

 

Stimuli Responsive Membranes


In order to improve or control separation properties such as flux and separation factor of membranes, special MOF systems and permeators can be developed which can be influenced in-situ by external stimuli such as light and electric fields. The results can then be a "defibrillation" of framework vibrations leading to improved molecular sieves or a switchable membrane via light irradiation.

 

 

Sensor Materials

 

The use of lanthanides in the synthesis of MOFs and MOF thin films can lead to extraordinary properties. On the one hand, these MOFs are extremely temperature stable, up to 620 °C, but also luminescent and sensitive to gases via their pore system, which makes them interesting for sensors. Furthermore, the use of these materials in MMMs for gas separation is an interesting application that the research group is investigating.

Institut für Funktionelle Grenzflächen (IFG)

Poröse Membranen und Sensormaterialien

Membranen aus Metall-Organische Netzwerkverbindungen (engl. Metal-Organic Frameworks, MOF) stellen eine neue Schlüsseltechnologie dar, um die EU Klimaziele bis 2050 zu erreichen. Membranen ermöglichen eine kontinuierliche Gastrennung, die (a) eine aktive Separation von CO2 z.B. von Industrieabgasen ermöglicht, aber auch (b) eine technologische Ablösung kryogener Destillationskolonnen und somit eine Etablierung einer grünen Produktion möglich macht.

 

 

Poröse Flüssigkeiten und Mixed Matrix Membranen

Poröse Flüssigkeiten sind eine neue Materialklasse, die, in Bezug auf MOFs, eine kolloidale Dispersion darstellt, bei denen die Porenöffnung der MOFs kleiner ist, als die umgebenden Lösemittelmoleküle, sodass die Nanokristalle „leer“ und die Poren zugänglich sind. Poröse Flüssigkeiten sind sehr gut prozessierbare, extrem stabile Kolloide, die durch ihre Monodispersität als Füllermaterial für Mixed Matrix Membranen (Polymer-Füller Membranen, MMMs) verwendet werden können und dort die Möglichkeit bieten extrem hohe Polymerbeladung zu erzeugen, ohne dass die Polymereigenschaften verloren gehen. MMMs sind aufgrund geringer Kosten und einfacher Herstellung für die Industrie am relevantesten und anwendungsnah.

 

 

SURMOF Membranen

Die Synthese von MOFs kann auf das nächste Level angehoben werden, indem Flüssigphasenepitaxy (engl. Liquid Phase Epitaxy, LPE) verwendet wird, welche eine Einheitszellenpräzision bei der Filmabscheidung ermöglicht, und das

 

selbst auf sehr rauen Oberflächen von keramischen Membranträgern. Diese Technologie ermöglicht ebenfalls die Abscheidung von hierarchischen Schichten, die dann die Separationsparameter mehrere Materialien in sich kombinieren.

 

 

Stimuli Responsive Membranes


Um die Separationsiegenschaften wie Flux und Trennfaktor von Membranen zu verbessern oder zu steuern können spezielle MOF-Systeme und Permeatoren entwickelt werden, die einen in-situ Einfluss über externe Stimuli, wie Licht und elektrische Felder, nehmen können. Das Ergebnisse kann dann eine „Defibrillation“ von Gerüstschwingungen sein, die zu verbesserte Molekularsieben führt, oder eine schaltbare Membran über Lichtbestrahlung.


 

 

Sensor Materials

 

Die Nutzung von Lanthaniden in der Synthese von MOFs und MOF-Dünnschichten kann zu außergewöhnlichen Eigenschaften führen. Zum einen sind diese MOFs extrem Temperaturstabil, bis zu 620 °C, aber auch lumineszent und über ihr Porensystem sensitiv zu Gasen, was sie für Sensoren interessant macht. Außerdem ist die Nutzung dieser Materialien in MMMs für die Gastrennung eine interessante Anwendung, die die Arbeitsgruppe untersucht.