Home | deutsch  | Legals | Sitemap | KIT
Contact

 

Stefan Heißler

+49-721-608-2-2682
+49-721-608-2-3478
E-Mail

 

Vibrational spectroscopy



The Vibrational spectroscopy at the IFG operates various techniques :
We process all IR spectroscopic problems of the institute and support other institutes of the KIT as well as external partners with the development of applications and project accompanying measurements.

Our bandwidth covers simple measurements of main components in solids and liquids with KBr pellet technique and ATR-methods, the investigation of the compounds and order of different thin layer systems and monolayer with grazing incidence spectroscopy and micro imaging methods with high spatial resolution down to 1 micron.

Beside simple instruments for routine and quality control the equipment consists of several spectrometers for high end applications. Hereby special attention is turned to the investigation of interfaces.

We’re carrying out special measurements for characterizations of thin layers down to monolayers (nm) as well as imaging-(2 & 3D) infrared and Raman microscopy. In addition we’re operating an FITR spectrometer specially optimized for lifescience applications (e.g. conformational analyses of proteins).


Overview of our applications at IFG and for other KIT institutes:

 

  • IRRAS spectroscopy in grazing incidence under variable angle (polarized) for the characterization of molecular layers on gold and dielectric substrates. In combination with ATR this technique is applied for the investigation of the liquid/solid (air/water) interface.


  • ATR spectroscopy with conventional (ZnSe, Ge and diamond, single and multiple reflection, membrane and liquid cells) and functionalized crystals for in situ and kinetic measurements for reaction monitoring of interfaces on molecular scale and investigations of biological material like single cells or biofilms.


  • Diffuse reflectance (DRIFT) spectroscopy for measurements of strong scattering and opaque samples.


  • Rapid- and stepscan technique for time resolved measurements and - in association with photoaccoustic spectroscopy - depth profiling.


  • IR- und Raman microscopy for determination of small particles and structures


  • IR- and Raman- microscopy for 3D imaging with high spatial resolution (1µm) -in combination with confocal Raman as well for depth profiling of transparent samples


  • Raman investigations with high temperature heating stage up to 1500°C

 

 

Examples for applications:

 

MolsSpek01_EN

Silane Hydrolysis from solution to surface: Visualisation of the formation of a silane layer on a SiO2 surface (Si Substrate)



MolSpek02_EN

IRRA - Spectra of C18SiCl3-SAM on SiO2 (left) and C18SiCl3 on Si3N4 (right). Spectra were aquired for each SAM with s- and p- polarizded light under diffrent angles of incidence. The used substrates are IR-transperent!

 

MolSpek03_DE

IR-Imaging of structured MOF on gold substrate. 3D (left) and 2D (right) signal image of the COO-stretching vibration (1510-1780cm-1) which is correlated to the endstanding function of the deposited MOF. The size of the written structure is between 6 and 10µm2

 

Our expertise and experience is provided to all other institutes/units of the KIT and to external partners.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT
Ansprechpartner

 

Stefan Heißler

+49-721-608-2-2682
+49-721-608-2-3478
E-Mail

 

Schwingungsspektroskopie



Die Molekülspektroskopie des IFG betreibt vielfältige schwingungsspektroskopische Analysentechniken. Wir bearbeiten alle IR spektroskopischen Fragestellungen des Instituts und unterstützen andere Institute des KIT, sowie externe Partner mit Applikationsentwicklungen und Projekt begleitenden Messungen.

Angefangen von einfachen Messungen der Hauptkomponenten in Feststoffen und Flüssigkeiten mit KBr-Presstechnik und ATR-Methoden, über die Untersuchung der Zusammensetzung und Ordnung verschiedener Dünnschichtsysteme und Monolagen mittels Streiflichtspektroskopie, bis hin zu bildgebenden Verfahren mit höchster Ortsauflösung (bis zu 1µm) wird ein breites Spektrum von Anwendungen umgesetzt.

Die Ausstattung umfasst neben einfachen Geräten für den Routinebetrieb und die Qualitätskontrolle auch Spektrometer für High-End Anwendungen im Forschungsbereich. Ein besonderes Augenmerk liegt dabei auf der Untersuchung von Grenzflächen.

Wir führen Messungen zur Charakterisierung von dünnen Schichten bis hin zu Monolagen (nm) ebenso durch, wie auch auf bildgebenden Verfahren beruhende IR- und Raman Mikroskopie. Außerdem betreiben wir Spektrometer, die für den Einsatz im Bereich „lifescience“ optimiert sind (z.B. Konformationsanalyse von Proteinen).


Die folgende Aufstellung gibt einen Überblick über unsere Applikationen und die wichtigsten Anwendungen im IFG und für anderere Institute des KIT:

 

  • IRRAS Spektroskopie im streifenden Einfall unter variablen Winkeln (auch polarisiert) zur Charakterisierung von molekularen Schichten (SAM und MOF) auf Gold und dielektrischen Substraten. Diese Technik wird in Kombination mit ATR auch zur Untersuchung der fest/flüssig Grenzfläche eingesetzt.


  • ATR Spektroskopie mit normalen (ZneSe, Ge und Diamant, einfach bis mehrfach Reflexionen, Durchflusszellen) und funktionalisierten ATR – Kristallen. Hiermit sind insitu- und Kinetikmessungen zur Untersuchung von chemischen Reaktionen an Grenzflächen und zur Charakterisierung von einzelnen Zellen bis hin zu Biofilmen im wässrigen Medium möglich.


  • Diffuse Reflexion (DRIFT) für Messungen an stark streuenden und opaken Proben.


  • Rapid- und Stepscan Technik für zeitaufgelöste Messungen und – in Verbindung mit Photoakustik – Tiefenprofilierung auch an dunkeln, stark absorbierenden Proben.


  • IR- und Raman Mikroskopie zur Untersuchung kleinster Partikel.


  • IR- und Raman- Imaging zur 3D Bildgebung mit höchster Ortsauflösung (bis zu 1µm) – mit konfokalem Raman sind an transparenten Proben auch Tiefenprofilierungen möglich


  • Ramanmessungen auch mit Hochtemperatur-Heizkammer (bis 1500°)

 

 

Anwendungsbeispiele:

 

COOG_MolSpek_Startseite_Silan-Hydrolyse_Web_DE

Silan Hydrolyse: Aus der Lösung auf die Oberfläche. Visualisierung der Bildung einer Silanschicht auf einer SiO2 Oberfläche (Si Substrat)



MolSpek02_DE

IRRA - Spektren von C18SiCl3-SAM auf SiO2 (links) und C18SiCl3 auf Si3N4 (rechts). Die Spektren wurden für jeden SAM jeweils mit s- und p- polarisiertem Licht unter verschiedenen Einfallswinkeln aufgenommen. Die verwendeten Substrate sind IR-transparent!

 

MolSpek03_DE

IR Imaging eines strukturierten MOF auf einem Gold Substrat. Abbildung des Signals in 3D (links) und 2 D (rechts) der COO Streckschwingung (1510-1780cm-1), welche der endständigen funktionellen Gruppe des aufgebrachten MOF zugeordnet ist. Die Größe der aufgebrachten Strukturierung liegt bei von 6 und 10µm2

 

Unsere Expertise und Erfahrung steht auch allen andern Instituten des KIT, sowie externen Partnern zur Verfügung.