Institute of Functional Interfaces

Molecular mechanisms of mechanical and chemical corrosion on cementitious materials

Due to their advantages in terms of availability of raw materials, processing, applicability, material properties, durability and price, cement-bound materials are among the most important building materials today. Due to their use, however, these structures are exposed to mechanical and chemical influences which can change the material. The consequences of these effects are therefore technologically, ecologically and economically complex repairs.



Figure 1: The selected images reflect the strategy of research: detailed knowledge from basic research is transferred to technology for innovation. The focus here is on the durability of cement-bound materials.



To date, however, there is no clear understanding of the molecular mechanisms of mechanical and chemical corrosion in cement-bound materials. Therefore, it is still not known today whether it is worse when (A) the truck drives over the road, when (B) it rains on the road, or when (C) the truck drives over the road when it rains. One reason for the difficulty of generating new knowledge at the atomic level is the complex chemical behaviour of the relevant mineral interfaces. Complex chemical behaviour in this context means that the structures are a mixture of both amorphous and crystalline phases, stoichiometries are not unique and the material is reactive over a very long time (years).

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT
Ansprechpartner
Peter-Thissen_200x250_Infobox

  Dr. Peter Thissen

   +49-721-608-2-3140

    +49-721-608-2-2478

     E-Mail

 

Molekulare Mechanismen der mechanischen und chemischen Korrosion auf zementgebundenen Werkstoffen

Zementgebundene Werkstoffe gehören aufgrund ihrer Vorteile in Hinsicht auf Verfügbarkeit der Rohstoffe, Verarbeitung, Einsetzbarkeit Werkstoffeigenschaften, Dauerhaftigkeit und Preis heute zu den wichtigsten Baustoffen. Nutzungsbedingt sind diese Bauwerke aber mechanischen und chemischen Einwirkungen ausgesetzt, welche werkstoffverändert wirken können. Folge dieser Einwirkungen sind daher technologisch, ökologisch und ökonomisch aufwendige Instandsetzungen.

 

 

 

Abbildung 1: Die ausgewählten Bilder spiegeln die Strategie der Forschung wider: Detaillierte Kenntnisse aus der Grundlagenforschung werden für die Innovation in die Technologie transferiert. Im Fokus steht dabei die Dauerhaftigkeit von zementgebundenen Werkstoffen.

 

 

Bis heute gibt es jedoch kein klares Verständnis der molekularen Mechanismen von mechanischer und chemischer Korrosion in den zementgebundenen Werkstoffen. Man weiß heute also immer noch nicht, ob es schlimmer ist, wenn (A) der LKW über die Straße fährt, wenn (B) es auf die Straße regnet, oder wenn (C) der LKW bei Regen über die Straße fährt. Ein Grund für die Schwierigkeit der Generierung neuer Erkenntnisse auf der atomaren Ebene ist das komplexe chemische Verhalten der relevanten mineralischen Grenzflächen. Komplexes chemisches Verhalten bedeutet in diesem Zusammenhang, dass die Strukturen ein Gemisch aus sowohl amorphen als auch kristallinen Phasen sind, Stöchiometrien nicht eindeutig sind und dass das Material über sehr lange Zeit (Jahre) reaktiv ist.